One kid, two kid, pink fish, blue fish

Now I know it’s perfectly obvious and completely reasonable but it still comes as a shock to me how different my kids are. I mean you’d think because they are both made up of the same ingredients, same parents, same everything , that they would somehow be the same. But they are not. They are completely different people to each other as they should be. What’s unreasonable is that I’m ever surprised.

My little man is blonde, mostly quiet and well behaved (in public anyway), likes reading books and spending ages putting together his train set. He is also a total mama’s boy. In fact he will only accept someone other than me in the past year or so, including his daddy!
My daughter is dark, short, loud, mad to the core. If you try and read her a book she grabs it off you and bashes you repeatedly on the head with it. If we make a train set we have to do it on a raised surface as she can create a tornado effect in 30 seconds flat. We haven’t ever baby proofed our house as it wasn’t needed. My son never broke anything! Her nibs has so far broken 4 plates in one go. She just pulled the entire stack out of the cupboard in one movement! She is a social being, and it’s not just her age. She is like one of those dogs on the beach that wants to go home with whoever gives them crisps.
My son was stomping around the furniture at 8 months. He didn’t crawl for more than a day as thought cruising was far more efficient.
Her ladyship was less physical in that respect. She does crawl but like to spend more time learning words! Words? Little man didn’t say anything other than “dadadadadadada” till he was over a year. She has a whole dictionary and she is 10 months old.
I know it’s not right to compare any children but I love the differences between my two. Keeps me in my toes and keeps everyone entertained. The best thing about them both though, and this they do have in common; They are mad about each other. If he is at nursery she is constantly looking over your shoulder for him and when we do pick him up they are truly delighted to see one another.
Little parenting bonus.

One response

  1. Nice post. I’m always amazed at how different my kids are from each other!

Leave a Reply

