Moving on

I think it’s safe to say I am having a particularly busy few weeks. In just 9 days we are moving home. We are not moving very far, just a couple of miles down the road but it may as well be to outer Russia for the amount of organising I’m having to do.
And it is exiting. A new chapter, a new home. But first we have to leave this one.
We moved into a bit of a shell of a house but it was ours. It had more than one bedroom and a garden! It even had a funny little square void that was apparently a fireplace. We felt very grown up. Six and a half years later it has seen one marriage, shed loads of painting and drilling, scraping and filling, one beard (not me, him), 2 babies , and an ever changing life.
When we moved in I was a professional career woman. I careered by day, shopped through my lunchtimes, dined out on a very regular basis. My husband (then boyfriend) and I used to meet for fancy lunches almost every week….imagine?
At weekends we used to sleep, paint, go on weekends away to exotic cities (by plane, we’re not talking Brighton here).
Now I’m a full time carer for my children. I think a trip to lidl is exiting. I think a trip to Sainsbury’s is a treat! I get exited about having a cup of coffee on my own and if I wake up and it’s sunny my first thought isn’t “oh lovely, which beer garden shall we go to after work?” it’s “oh quick, wash in now so I can hang it out early and get it dry”.
I may whinge about my life but really I wouldn’t change it for anything right now. And all this is just a new chapter and things always change. My friends will always be my friends wherever I am.
So moving on and moving out. It’s a bit scary but will work out in the end.
Now, let’s get back to the boxes…..

20120613-115821.jpg

Leave a Reply

